Friday Jam: Arya Starr’s ’19 & Dangerous Album is Straight Fire

Article by The Editor
Posted: August 13, 2021  

Afropop Teen sensation Oyinkansola Sarah Aderibigbe A.K.A Ayra Starr  released her eponymous EP early in 2021 which got the industry buzzing with over 23 million global streams. One of her singles “Away” has racked up over 3.8 million YouTube views! Arya took it a notch higher with her debut album 19 & Dangerous Album.

Photo credit: scrdofme


Comprising 11 unapologetic tracks all written or co-written by Ayra herself, the album is a coming-of-age record seamlessly weaving Afro-pop, R&B, dancehall, trap and alté styles. Check out the track list

1. Cast

2. Fashion Killa

3. Lonely

4. Snitch feat. Foushee

5. Toxic

6. Underwater

7. Beggie Beggie feat. Ckay

8. Karma

9. Bloody Samaritan

10. Bridgertn

11. Amin

‘19 & Dangerous’ is a coming-of-age album fit for a socially-conscious Gen Z. It also unflinchingly tackles themes of feminism, drug abuse and sexual consent – particularly highlighted on the meditative, soulful ballads “Toxic” and “Underwater”. Here Ayra flexes her vocal dexterity and songwriting prowess, singing on “Toxic”: “Why did you give me the drugs that it took? Why did you force me to take it?… I’m sorry that I loved somebody that will hurt me.” The deeply personal track is one of the earliest songs Ayra wrote and posted on her social media before she was discovered.

Ayra’s album is straight fire and you can stream  it here.

About the author

The Editor


Similar articles recommended for you


Subscribe to our newsletter

  • Events
  • Movies
  • KenyaBuzz Kids
  • Whatsapp/Telegram

    Be the first to know the latest buzz. We’ll send you the hottest trends in one bite-size message Daily